Most of us understand that if we physically lose our license or enhanced driver’s license in Michigan, we can visit any Secretary of State office to apply for a replacement. In other states, it might be the DMV. Either way, they will need legal, proper identification to substantiate identity. A lost or stolen enhanced license is immediately canceled and cannot be used for border-crossing purposes.
However, what if a license is legally lost as a result of too many speeding tickets or a drunk driving conviction?
What happens if I lose my driver’s license?
The answer is different depending on the situation. However, first things first…hire an experienced attorney!
If your license has been suspended due to too many speeding tickets, you will need to complete a driver improvement course before it can be reinstated.
On the other hand, suppose your license has been revoked for a DUI. In that case, you will need to complete a substance abuse evaluation and education program as well as install an ignition interlock device on any vehicles you own or operate. In both cases, you will need to pay a reinstatement fee.
If your license has been suspended or revoked, you will not be able to simply apply for a replacement. Instead, you must follow the proper steps to have it reinstated before you can once again legally drive in Michigan.
Generally speaking, these are the steps:
- Hire an attorney
- File a Petition for Restoration of Operating Privileges form with the Michigan Secretary of State’s Driver’s License Appeal Division (DLAD)
- Obtain an official copy of your driving record from the Michigan Secretary of State
- Complete a Michigan Driver Responsibility Assessment form
- Pay a $125 fee for the license reinstatement and any other outstanding fines and fees
- Complete a Defensive Driving Course or an Alcohol and Drug Evaluation and Treatment Program
If your license were suspended due to a DUI/OWI offense, you would need to complete the following additional steps:
- File an SR-22 insurance form
- Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
- Complete a Michigan Drunk Driving Victim Impact Panel
- Complete a Michigan Sobriety Assessment and Treatment Plan
- Pay a $500 fee for license reinstatement
How do I get my license back after a DUI in Michigan?
After two or more DUIs, you must request a hearing with the Michigan Secretary of State to get your license reinstated. In addition, you must provide evidence that your substance abuse problem has been resolved and that you will be able to drive safely and lawfully during this session.
What happens in Michigan when you get a DUI?
Michigan Penalties for DUI/OWI Offenses
- First offense OWI is a 93-day misdemeanor. The maximum penalties for a first offense OWI are a fine of $300 to $1,000, up to 360 hours of community service, and up to 93 days in jail.
- Second offense OWI is a 1-year misdemeanor. The maximum penalties for a second offense OWI are a fine of $200 to $1,000, up to 30 days of community service, and up to 1 year in jail.
- Third offense OWI is a 5-year felony. The maximum penalties for a third offense OWI are a fine of $500 to $5,000, up to 90 days of community service, and up to 5 years in jail.
- OWI Causing Serious Injury – Prison time of five years, fines of $1,000 to $5,000, mandatory vehicle immobilization.
- OWI Causing Death – Prison time of 15 years, fines of $2,500 to $10,000, mandatory vehicle immobilization. If a firefighter or police officer dies, it is considered a violation of 257.653a. Penalties for this crime are the same other than you will be sentenced to 20 years in prison.
What happens if I lose my license?
In conclusion, these are the general steps that need to be taken in order to reinstate a driver’s license in the state of Michigan. However, it is always best to consult with an attorney to ensure that all the necessary steps are being taken and that everything is being done correctly and according to the law.